Pride in Sport: Global Leaders in LGBTQ Inclusion in Sport

Pride in Sport is a national not-for-profit sporting inclusion program specifically designed to assist sporting organisations at all levels with the inclusion of employees, athletes, volunteers and spectators with diverse genders and sexualities. The program has three core pillars in commitment (as Pride in Sport Members), measurement (via the Pride in Sport Index), and recognition (celebrated at the Australian Pride in Sport Awards).

Membership Program

The Pride in Sport membership program is designed to:
  • Assist Australian sporting organisations with all aspects of LGBTQ inclusion as it pertains to their sport and those working within the sporting organisation;
  • Work with members to achieve best practice as benchmarked by the Pride in Sport Index (PSI);
  • Create better health outcomes for LGBTQ players, coaches, fans and others by creating inclusive spaces though the reduction of homophobia, transphobia, stigma and discrimination.
To find out more about the Pride in Sport Membership Program, please click here.

Pride in Sport Index

The Pride in Sport Index is an initiative of the Australian Human Rights Commission and the Australian Sports Commission and a legacy of the Bingham Cup, Sydney. Following the release of the Out on the Fields study in May 2015, the largest international study examining homophobia in sport, these organisations commissioned Pride in Diversity to develop a Pride in Sport Index.

The Pride in Sport Index™ (PSI) is the first and only benchmarking instrument specifically designed to assess the inclusion of people with diverse sexualities and genders within Australian sport and sporting organisations. Participating in the index will allow Australian sporting organisations to not only assess their own practice, but determine that which constitutes good practice, along with the ability to benchmark their own initiatives against an external measure and other sporting organisations.

An advisory group has been established to assist Pride in Diversity in the development of the Pride in Sport Index. The advisory group includes; the National Rugby League (NRL), the Australian Football League (AFL), the Australian Rugby Union (ARU), Football Federation Australia (FFA), Cricket Australia, Swimming Australia, Water Polo Australia, Basketball Australia and Golf Australia.

To find out more on the Pride in Sport Index, click here.

Australian Pride in Sport Awards

The Pride in Sport Awards recognise the achievements and results of sporting organisations, groups, initiatives and individuals across several various categories.

Each year several of the awards are based on results from the Pride in Sport Index [PSI] (as per above), along with several community based awards where the general public can nominate their champions in different categories.

To find out more about the Australian Pride in Sport Awards, click here.