2022 Award Finalists


Finalists for the 2022 Pride in Sport Awards have been announced ahead of the fifth annual awards ceremony that will see sporting identities, clubs and codes across the country gather to celebrate LGBTQ inclusion in Australian sport on 27 April in Melbourne.

First held in 2018, the Australian Pride in Sport Awards is a national event dedicated solely to recognising exceptional efforts in making sport more inclusive of LGBTQ people. It is produced by Pride in Sport, the national not-for-profit sporting inclusion program spearheaded by Australia’s largest LGBTQ health organisation ACON.

Hosted by former Australian professional tennis player, Channel Nine commentator and Women and Girls Lead for Tennis NSW, Casey Dellacqua, the Awards will feature keynote speakers from experts within the industry, as well as the much-anticipated award ceremony.

One of the leading events on the LGBTQ sporting calendar, the Australian Pride in Sport Awards honours athletes, employees and organisations as it showcases the results of the Pride in Sport Index (PSI) – the national benchmarking instrument used to assess LGBTQ inclusion within Australian sport.


Community Sporting Organisation of the Year

  • Bentstix Hockey Club
  • Climbing QTs
  • Kingston City Rollers

LGBTQ Ally Award

  • Cassie Lindsey, Geelong Cats
  • Ivan Power, Bronte Surf Life Saving Club

LGBTQ Out Role Model

  • Hendry Lukman, Hobart Out Tennis
  • Dominic Clarke, Gymnastics NSW

LGBTQ Inclusive Coach

  • Mathew Helm, Diving Australia
  • Sheena Atkin, Basketball, Queer Sporting Alliance

LGBTQ Positive Media Award

  • Elliot, Win News Tasmania – Inclusive Sport State Rounds
  • Mary Konstantopoulos; Holly’s Story – Coming Out

LGBTQ Inclusion Initiative Award

  • Rolling Rainbow Sports Day – Wheelchair Sports
  • Richmond Pride Ally Network
  • Champion Come Out & Play, Queer Sporting Alliance
  • South Melbourne District Football Club – Inaugural Pride Round

Executive Leader of the Year Award

  • Michael Johnston, Chief Strategy Officer & General Counsel, Hockey Australia
  • Craig Tiley, Chief Executive Officer, Tennis Australia

The 2022 Australian Pride in Sport Awards is on Tuesday 27 April 2022 6pm – 9pm at Showtime Events Centre, 61 S Wharf Promenade, Melbourne VIC.

For more information and to purchase tickets, click here.

To view and download the full Media Release, click here.